Aug 21, 2017

World champion 2017 review


Dear All,

Thanks to an excellent organisation, including the fine weather, the participants enjoyed very much this years WC in Victoria. Many thanks go to Gerry Kelly and his team who made an excellent job. The participants from 22 nations from all over the world appreciated the friendliness and kindness of the canadian people. 
You can find the leader board list and pictures from this event on their web site:
or on this web site. 
Category: News
Posted by: pixinside



1st Division (0 to 14,0 Hcp.- the only division playing medal play, gross and the world champion can only be from this division)

The World champion 2017 is Rot. Robin Punches from the US, who won over Gianni Baratto from Italy in a shoot-out on the mountain course in Bear Mountain. Both are excellent players with single- digit hcps. and were equal after the three rounds with 242 points gross, each. This happened for the first time in the 54-year-history of IGFR. Instead of making a play off, the organizers opted for a shoot-out with only one stroke each, to play  from some 110 yd. away from the the pin of the last hole. Both demonstrated their skills with perfect back spin strokes, the balls of both players landed near the pin. Robin won by about 2 feet. Congratulations to Robin for the win of the Carl Miller-Trophy and Gianni for being the runner up.


Rot. Marianne Welti from Switzerland led the lady Rotarians with a 3-rounds-score of 269 points, gross, finishing the tournament on the excellent 6th place in the first Division. The most steady male player in this division  was Stuart Katz from Arizona, USA, with three rounds of 90 on difficult courses at Bear Mountains. Congratulations also to these players/participants. Both are LT members of IGFR. 


     2nd Division - Rotarians:

   - Bob Plumb, USA - 112 points net stableford

     2nd - Antti Virtanen, Finland, 111 points net stableford

     3rd -  Anne Van Buel, Switzerland, 107 points


     3rd Division- Rotarians Seniors 




     1. Ross Ellis, Australia  - 124 points net stableford

     2. Andy Edgar, Scotland - 123 points net stableford

     3. Charles Zaugg, Switzerland - 120 points net stableford




     Partners and Guest Division ( 2-days competition):


     1st. - Lynn Shin, USA - 78 points net stableford

     2nd - Christa Pickel, Germany - 73 points net stableford

     3rd - Dany Orth, South Africa -  73 points net stableford

     4th - Christoph Welti, Switzerland  - 73 points net stableford



 Hole-in-one competition:


The organizers had the foresight to offer every day during the world championship to win either a car with a value of Can.$ 30’000.00 or a cash prize of Can.S 10’000.00, for a hole-in-one.


All golfers were very much motivated on the two golf courses, mountain and valley course at Bear Mountains.


The long-time LT-member and participant at world championships, Erling Johnsen from Bergen, Norway, on the day before his 85th birthday,  on Friday 12.8.2017, was skilled and lucky enough to make a hole-in-one on the difficult mountain course, on hole 16, length 162 yards, very much downhill with deep slopes. Congratulations, Erling will make a donation with a part of the « prize-money » to IGFR International. He was also generous enough to offer his flights, the flights before and after  drinks in commemoration of his outstanding performance. Thank you Earling and many more holes-in-one! see attached some photographs.





Many photographs from the week of golf and fellowship in Victoria can be found on the web site of:


The traditional  4 BBB on Monday was won with a fabulous score of 50 stableford points by the team (computer chooses partners) of 


Blaise Matthey from Switzerland and
Carl Heinz Duisberg from South Africa,


followed by the team of


Eric Shannon from the USA and

Charles Zaugg from Switzerland 
with 49 points stableford.


In 3rd place was the team of:
Christa Pickel from Germany and Antti Virtanen from Finland with 48 points

The nation’s cup was won by Australia with 343 points consisting of the team of
Ross Ellis, Alan Greig and Rob Motteram

2. USA with the following team: Paul Dougan, Bob Plumb and Jay Shin, with a score of 338 points total

3. Switzerland with the following team: PDG Charles Zaugg, Anne Van Buel,  Pierre Henchoz - reached a score of 331.

Let us hope that next year some new nations will be among the leading countries. It should be remembered that the more members represent a nation the better are the chances to win a prize.


Sincere congratulations to all winners of the trophees.


The following countries had the highest  number of participants from the 22 participating nations,  Rotarians and Non-Rotarians combined


        35 USA 

        19 Switzerland

        16 Germany

        14 Australia


Gerry Kelly, Randy G.Decksheimer and the entire team deserve our warmest thanks for a great job done. The dozens of helpers on the two golf courses were particularly impressive together with the professional helpers/staff from the the two golf courses.

Canadian courtesy at its best!


The opening ceremony of the 54th IGFR world championship took place on Sunday evening 6.8.17 with the presence of many officials from the town Victoria and the state B.C. and also from the Rotary district of B.C. The opening ceremony preceded the players meeting and the annual general meeting of IGFR, also at the Grand Pacific Hotel in Victoria. 


On Tuesday evening 8.8.2017 a buffet diner was hosted by the Lieutenant Governor of British Colombia at Government House and Grounds,  at one of the nicest places in Victoria. Excellent reception with a speech of the Lieutenant Governor who seems to be also very knowledgeable about Rotary projects. For information purposes the Governor General is residing in Ottawa and is the representative of the Queen in Canada.


The farewell diner and the presentation of Tallinn 2018 took place on Friday evening at the Bear Mountain Hotel. The electronic registration for Tallinn 2018 is now open. 


Web site info and registration:



Victoria good bye, Tallinn welcome




  Oscar J. Kneubuehler 

  Executive Secretary IGFR International 

IGFR SWITZERLAND - Alfred-Cortot 7D - 1260 Nyon / 022 365 45 50 /

website by PixInside SA